Main Page Content

Welcome to the WECHU Newsroom.  Find media advisories, resources and news updates, plus social media information!

Published on Thursday, January 26

News release icon

The following statement can be attributed to the Windosr-Essex County Health Unit (WECHU):

Published on Monday, January 23

WECHU News Release

Businesses, residents, and agencies are invited to have their say at Virtual Town Halls ahead of the opening of the Consumption and Treatment Services Site.

Published on Friday, January 20

WECHU News Release

At last night’s meeting, Councillor Fabio Costante was elected as the new chair of the region’s Board of Health.

Published on Tuesday, January 17

WECHU Media Advisory Icon

Windsor-Essex County Health Unit Board of Health Meeting Thursday, January 19, 2023

Published on Thursday, January 12

WECHU Media Advisory Icon

As of January 9, 2023 there are 9,069 elementary school students at risk of school suspension on March 20, 2023.

Published on Monday, January 9

WECHU Media Advisory Icon

Windsor-Essex County Health Unit Board of Health Meeting Thursday, November 10, 2022

Published on Tuesday, December 20

News release icon

he holiday season is a time for gathering amongst family and friends, which heightens the risk for transmission of respiratory illness. In previous years, the region has experienced large spikes in COVID-19 activity in the month of January.

Published on Monday, December 12

WECHU News Release

The Immunization of School Pupils Act (ISPA) R.S.O.1990 requires all students in Ontario to be up-to-date on immunizations.

Published on Thursday, November 10

WECHU News Release

The Windsor-Essex County Health Unit (WECHU) performed an inspection on November 7, 2022 at Pro Nails, 8474 Wyandotte St. East, in the City of Windsor after receiving a complaint from a member of the public.

Published on Tuesday, November 8

WECHU Media Advisory Icon

Windsor-Essex County Health Unit Board of Health Meeting Thursday, November 10, 2022