Main Page Content

The goal of the strategy is to implement an opioid and overdose prevention and response plan for Windsor-Essex County. This strategy will include local programs, policies, and practices to support community efforts and resources to address opioid-related harms.

Three key objectives are:

  1. Prevent and reduce the incidence of opioid misuse and overdoses.
  2. Improve the management of overdoses. 
  3. Increase the number of people who access treatment.

Windsor-Essex Community Opioid Strategy-Leadership Committee - Terms of Reference

Mission Statement

The Windsor-Essex Community Opioid Strategy Leadership Committee is committed to the ongoing development and implementation of a community based opioid strategy that will reduce the burden of opioid related social and health issues in our community.

Vision Statement

A community in which the harms associated with opioids are well understood and a multi-sectoral, evidence-based approach is adopted with a realization of benefits as well as harms for individuals, families, communities and society.


  • Collaboration: We are committed to actively engaging and working with organizations, groups and individuals to achieve positive change.
  • Data Sharing: We are committed to collecting and sharing relevant data in order to address this issue to the best of the committee’s combined ability.
  • Evidence-informed Decision Making: We are committed to using the best available evidence to guide the decision making process.
  • Community Engagement: We are committed to working with those with lived and front-line experience to develop and implement strategies to address the opioid crisis.

Structure & Responsibilities

The Windsor-Essex Community Opioid Strategy Leadership Committee (WECOS-LC) is a collaboration of stakeholders from public health, emergency services, law enforcement agencies (Windsor Police, LaSalle Police, OPP, Amherstburg Police), the Local Health Integration Network, the City of Windsor, County of Essex, Windsor-Essex hospitals, addiction and mental health service providers, education, pharmacy(s), and the community through peer representation.  

Each agency that is a member of the committee will have a maximum of 1 to 2 representatives. Agency representatives should be individuals at a senior level within the organization that are able to represent their organization in a decision making capacity. Members should ensure that a designate is selected for the committee to attend in their absence to ensure representation.

Further membership will be open to additional community groups by invitation from the Chair. Membership shall be renewed automatically until the individual/group requests in writing, to the Chair, that they be removed from the membership list. Members who do not attend at least 50% of the meetings annually will be contacted by the Chair to determine if continued membership is desired.


The structure of the WECOS-LC will be one committee as a whole, with the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit serving as the lead organization, assuming the role of Co-Chair and providing resource support for the committee including the recording of minutes and distribution of agendas. Essex-Windsor EMS will serve as the second co-chair for the committee. Decision-making will be completed through a voting process. Only members present at the time of the vote will be counted towards consensus. Any split vote scenarios will be decided by the Co-Chairs.


Responsibilities of Chair/Co-Chair

  • Calling and chairing the meetings.
  • Working with other members to set the agenda for meetings, as well as ensuring an agenda is prepared and minutes are captured.
  • Representing the WECOS-LC’s interests in the community and at functions.
  • Sharing and exchanging relevant information with members of the coalition.
  • Adhering to the values of the WECOS-LC.
  • Identifying new people or organizations interested in becoming members of working groups.
  • Representing WECOS-LC at community events and in media.

Responsibilities of Members

  • Sharing and exchanging relevant data and information with members of the WECOS-LC.
  • Attending and actively participating in meetings of the WECOS-LC.
  • Adhering to the values of the WECOS-LC.

The WECOS-LC will meet a minimum of six (6) times per year or more frequently as deemed appropriate. The following group member meeting guidelines will be followed:

  • We will respect the opinions of all members and treat each other with respect.
  • We will actively contribute to the discussions.
  • We will keep an open mind to new and different ideas.
  • We will ensure that the mission, vision and values underpin all discussions and recommendations for activity.

Terms of Reference are to be confirmed at a minimum annually.

Approved through vote on June 29, 2017.

Committee Members

A list of committee member names, with their respective title and organization
Name Title and Organization
Dr. Wajid Ahmed, Co-Chair Acting Medical Officer of Health, Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
Bruce Krauter, Co-Chair Chief, Essex-Windsor EMS
Tom Bain Warden, County of Essex & Mayor, Town of Lakeshore
Tim Berthiaume Chief, Amherstburg Police Service
Dr. Paul Bradford Emergency Department Physician, Windsor Regional Hospital
Michael Brennan Executive Director, AIDS Committee of Windsor
Peter Chevalier Staff Sergeant, LaSalle Police Service
Claudia Den Boer CEO, Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)
Jeanie Diamond-Francis Integrated Manager, Mental Health Services (CMHA)
Drew Dilkens Mayor, Corporation of the City of Windsor
Nicole Dupuis Director, Health Promotion, Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
Jim Farrand Inspector, Windsor Police Service
Lori Feltz/Alternate Manager Critical Care & Mental Health, Leamington District Memorial Hospital
Michelle Graham Residential Program Manager, St. Leonard’s House; Harm Reduction Network
Dr. Sonja Grbevski Vice President, Brain & Behaviour Health, Hotel Dieu Grace Healthcare-Prince Road Campus
Joe Karb Director, Mental Health Addictions, Hotel Dieu Grace Healthcare-Prince Road Campus
Jeff Mailloux Staff Sergeant, Windsor Police Service
Alison Malott Peer Representative
Christine Malott Agent for the Director of Public Prosecutions
Theresa Marentette Acting CEO/Director, Health Protection, and Chief Nursing Officer, Windsor-Essex County Health Unit
Edward Marocko Inspector, Ontario Provincial Police
Dawn Maziak Health System Design Manager, Mental Health & Addiction Lead, ESC LHIN
Dr. Robert McKay Executive Director, Erie-St. Clair Clinic
Gary McNamara Chairman Board of Health Windsor-Essex County Health Unit and Mayor, Town of Tecumseh
Pamela Mizuno (Alternate) Superintendent, Investigations, Windsor Police Service
Robert Modestino Pharmacist
Robert Moroz Integrated Director, Outpatient & Community Services, HDGH
Jelena Payne/Alternate Community Development and Health Commissioner and Corporate Leader Social Development, Health, Recreation and Culture, Corporation of the City of Windsor
Sharon Pyke/Alternate Superintendent, GECDSB (English Public School Board)
Edith St.-Arnaud Superintendent of Education Responsible for Student Services, CSC Providence (French Catholic School Board)
Mike Symons Detective Sergeant, Ontario Provincial Police
Karen Waddell Executive Director, House of Sophrosyne

Committee Resources (WECHU Staff):

A list of committee resources (WECHU Staff), with their respective title
Name Title
Ramsey D’Souza Manager, Epidemiology & Evaluation
Nichole Fisher Manager, Clinical Services
Eric Nadalin Manager, Chronic Disease and Injury Prevention
Saamir Pasha Epidemiologist
Gillian Stager Health Promotion Specialist
Rosanne St. Denis Executive Assistant/Committee Secretary

If you have any questions about the Opioid and Overdose Prevention Strategy for Windsor-Essex County, please contact Gillian Stager at 519-258-2146 ext. 3213 or

Related Content